Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15 – 23 October 2022

Rob Kraitt

Rob Kraitt, a welcome guest and expert in the creative industries, will be back again in 2022. As talent manager at Casarotto Ramsay Associates Limited in London, Rob Kraitt has wide ranging experience representing writer and director talent and selling books for film and television adaptations. He has participated in panels and master classes for the Edinburgh International Film Festival, the Writers' Guild of Great Britain, and the International Screenwriters’ Festival, among others. Rob Kraitt began his career as a script editor and consultant for leading film production companies in the UK, including Working Title, Focus Features, Pathé Productions, Miramax and Ruby Films, as well as the European Media Development Agency. Prior to joining Casarotto in February 2011, he was Head of Media and Deputy Director of the AP Watt Literary Film & Television Agency.

Rob Kraitt will speak in a moderated Master Class about who is suitable to be represented by an agency and which film materials are currently in demand in the market.

Info

Personal Info

Profession
  • Speaker
Field of Work
  • Agency
Country
  • United Kingdom

Company

Casarotto Ramsay & Associates

Casarotto Ramsay & Associates represent and manage many of the world’s best-known writers, directors, literary properties, and below-the-line talent in film, theatre, television and new media. We also strive to welcome new, exciting and powerful voices to our client roster, and we are strongly and vocally supportive of diversity and inclusion of marginalised groups within our industries. Founded in 1989, Casarotto Ramsay & Associates has not only an illustrious history, but also maintains a firm focus on the future. We are based in London but operate internationally. We are fiercely independent allowing us to represent widely celebrated talent, as well as to nurture rising stars, with individualised guidance and a personal touch.

B3 Conference

16.10.2022
03:00 PM – 04:00 PM
Talk: What is wanted?! What subject areas and what creative content does the market want? Experts discuss!

Turning one's creativity into a profession and being able to make a living from it - that is the great desire of many creative professionals. To achieve this, however, the output of their creative work must also be relevant to the market.

The market in the moving image sector is constantly expanding. New technologies are being made marketable, and the proliferation of media such as virtual reality goggles is advancing. In addition to the technology, however, it is primarily the content transported via it that is the cornerstone for market acceptance. These must be prepared and edited accordingly so that they fit the respective medium and the user accepts them.

This naturally raises the question of whether creativity is not suffering under the dictates of market relevance, and how one can possibly counteract this. In such cases, it's good to have someone who believes in you, knows the market and is there to offer advice and support, such as experienced producers or festival directors.

Frédéric Boyer, artistic director of the Tribeca Film Festival, and Torre Schmidt, a German producer who has consolidated his career in Hollywood, will give an insight into their work: At what point do creatives and their work attract the interest of film producers or marketing platforms like festivals? What do they need to bring to the table, and which skills are particularly relevant? Above all, the two will also give an overview of what the producer-side market is currently demanding and will demand in the future.

Guests of B3

Jay B. Jammal
Director
Dr. Ina Knobloch
Journalist Germany
Martin Zimper
Consultant Austria

Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15. – 23. Oktober 2022

Rob Kraitt

Rob Kraitt, gern gesehener Gast und Experte in Sachen Kreativbranchen, wird auch 2022 wieder mit von der Partie sein. Als Talentmanager bei Casarotto Ramsay Associates Limited in London verfügt Rob Kraitt über weitreichende Erfahrung in der Vertretung von Autoren- und Regietalenten und im Verkauf von Büchern für Film- und Fernsehadaptionen. Er nahm unter anderem an Panels und Master Classes für das Edinburgh International Film Festival, die Writers' Guild of Great Britain und das International Screenwriters' Festival teil. Seine Karriere begann Rob Kraitt als Skriptlektor und Berater für führende Filmproduktionsfirmen in Großbritannien, darunter Working Title, Focus Features, Pathé Productions, Miramax und Ruby Films sowie die European Media Development Agency. Bevor er im Februar 2011 zu Casarotto kam, war er Leiter der Medienabteilung und stellvertretender Direktor der AP Watt Literary Film & Television Agency.

Rob Kraitt wird in einer moderierten Master Class darüber sprechen, wer sich dafür eignet von einer Agentur vertreten zu werden und welche Stoffe am Markt derzeit gefragt sind.

Info

Persönliche Angaben

Beruf
  • Speaker
Arbeitsfeld
  • Agency
Land
  • Vereinigtes Königreich

Unternehmen

Casarotto Ramsay & Associates

Casarotto Ramsay & Associates vertritt und verwaltet viele der weltweit bekanntesten Autoren, Regisseure, literarischen Werke und Talente in den Bereichen Film, Theater, Fernsehen und neue Medien. Wir bemühen uns auch, neue, aufregende und kraftvolle Stimmen in unserem Kundenstamm willkommen zu heißen, und wir setzen uns nachdrücklich für die Vielfalt und Einbeziehung von Randgruppen in unserer Branche ein. Casarotto Ramsay & Associates wurde 1989 gegründet und kann nicht nur auf eine illustre Geschichte zurückblicken, sondern hat auch die Zukunft fest im Blick. Wir haben unseren Sitz in London, sind aber international tätig. Wir sind überaus unabhängig, was es uns ermöglicht, weithin gefeierte Künstler zu vertreten und aufstrebende Stars mit individueller Beratung und einer persönlichen Note zu fördern.

B3 Konferenz

16.10.2022
15:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Talk: Was ist gefragt?! Welche Themenfelder und welche kreativen Inhalte will der Markt? Experten diskutieren!

Seine eigene Kreativität zum Beruf zu machen und davon leben zu können, ist der große Wunsch der meisten Kreativschaffenden. Dafür muss der Output ihres kreativen Schaffens aber auch marktrelevant sein. Der Markt im Bereich des bewegten Bildes erweitert sich stetig. Neue Technologien werden markttauglich gemacht und damit einhergehend schreitet die Erweiterung der Trägermedien, wie z. B. durch Virtual Reality Brillen immer weiter fort. Neben der Technik sind dafür aber vor allem auch die darüber transportierten Inhalte Grundsteine für eine Marktakzeptanz. Diese müssen entsprechend aufbereitet und bearbeitet werden, damit sie zum jeweiligen Medium passen und der Endverbraucher sie akzeptiert.

Das wirft natürlich die Frage auf, ob die Kreativität nicht unter dem Diktat der Marktrelevanz leidet und wie man eventuell gegensteuern kann. In solchen Fällen ist es gut, wenn man jemanden hat, der an einem glaubt, den Markt kennt und mit Rat und Tat zur Seite steht, so wie zum Beispiel erfahrene Produzent:innen oder auch Festivaldirektor:innen.

Frédéric Boyer, künstlerischer Leiter des Tribeca Film Festivals und Torre Schmidt, deutscher Produzent, der seine Karriere in Hollywood gefestigt hat, werden einen Einblick in ihre Arbeit geben: Ab wann wecken Kreative und ihre Werk das Interesse von Filmproduzent:innen oder Marketingplattformen wie Festivals? Was müssen sie dafür mitbringen und welche Skills sind besonders relevant? Vor allem geben die beiden auch einen Überblick über das, wonach der produzentenseitige Markt derzeit verlangt und zukünftig verlangen wird.

Gäste der B3

Birgit Wittemann
Dramaturge Deutschland
Birgit Karus
Speaker Estland