Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15 – 23 October 2022

Dr. Emilia Roig

Dr. Emilia Roig is the founder and executive director of the Berlin-based Center for Intersectional Justice (CIJ), a nonprofit organization that advocates for justice, equality, and lives free from systemic oppression for all. Her experience growing up in an Algerian-Jewish-Caribbean family in France shaped her commitment and passion for intersectional social justice. Dr. Emilia Roig is dedicated to inspiring people to break free from systems of oppression, create new narratives, and shift collective consciousness. She is the author of the best-selling book WHY WE MATTER. She was selected as the 2022 Impact of Diversity Award's Most Influential Woman of the Year.

Info

Personal Info

Profession
  • Founder
  • Executive Director
Field of Work
  • Speaker
Country
  • Germany

B3 Conference

18.10.2022
02:30 PM – 04:00 PM
The Transformation of Democracy. An opportunity?

Following this year's focus on TRANSFORMATION, B3 Conference will take an in-depth look at questions of democracy as a form of state and socio-structural philosophy.

Due to the enormous transformation processes that society is currently undergoing, in our focus on democracy we explore which sociopolitical systems might take the lead in the world in the future. The question arises whether democracy is not increasingly decomposing itself democratically. What would this mean for society and the individual?

Democracy seems to be the only practicable form of government for us in westernized countries. However, the majority of people today live in autocracies, for example. Societies and individuals are confronted with the question of how far they are willing to accept freedom as the freedom of those who think differently, to quote Rosa Luxemburg, who formulated it so aptly 100 years ago.

What would therefore have to change in order for the notorious social gap not to widen so much and for the majority of humanity to be able to live together in a more peaceful and civilized way? What role can and should creatives play as portraitists, chroniclers and critics of our time or as visionaries with a view to a possible future within processes of change? What form of society would be right for them and in their eyes?

These questions and more will be discussed live by experts, thinkers and creatives in a panel, a think tank and with the audience.

Guests of B3

Dr. Frauke Schmickl
Speaker Austria
Veronika Munk
Journalist Hungary
Esther Mwema
Writer Zambia

Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15. – 23. Oktober 2022

Dr. Emilia Roig

Dr. Emilia Roig ist die Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin des in Berlin ansässigen Center for Intersectional Justice (CIJ), einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die sich für Gerechtigkeit, Gleichberechtigung und ein Leben frei von systemischer Unterdrückung für alle einsetzt. Ihre Erfahrung, in einer algerisch-jüdisch-karibischen Familie in Frankreich aufzuwachsen, prägte ihr Engagement und ihre Leidenschaft für intersektionale soziale Gerechtigkeit. Dr. Emilia Roig widmet sich der Aufgabe, Menschen zu inspirieren, sich von Unterdrückungssystemen zu lösen, neue Narrative zu schaffen und das kollektive Bewusstsein zu verändern. Sie ist die Autorin des Bestsellers WHY WE MATTER. DAS ENDE DER UNTERDRÜCKUNG. 2022 wurde sie als "Most Influential Woman of the Year" im Rahmen des Impact of Diversity Award gewählt.

Info

Persönliche Angaben

Beruf
  • Founder
  • Executive Director
Arbeitsfeld
  • Speaker
Land
  • Deutschland

B3 Konferenz

18.10.2022
14:30 – 16:00 Uhr
Panel: Welche soziopolitischen Systeme übernehmen in Zukunft die Führung in der Welt?

Aufgrund der enormen Transformationsprozesse, die die Gesellschaft derzeit durchläuft, erkunden wir mit Blick auf demokratisch geprägte Strukturen, welche soziopolitischen Systeme in Zukunft die Führung in der Welt übernehmen könnten. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob sich die Demokratie nicht immer mehr demokratisch selbst zersetzt. Was würde dies dann für die Gesellschaft und das Individuum bedeuten? Demokratie scheint für uns in den westlich geprägten Staaten die einzig praktikable Staatsform zu sein.

Die Mehrheit der Menschen lebt heute aber zum Beispiel in Autokratien. Gesellschaften und Individuen werden damit konfrontiert, inwieweit sie dazu bereit sind, Freiheit auch als Freiheit der Andersdenkenden zu akzeptieren, um Rosa Luxemburg zu zitieren, die es vor 100 Jahren so treffend formulierte. Was müsste sich daher ändern, damit die berüchtigte gesellschaftliche Schere nicht so weit auseinandergeht und die Mehrheit der Menschheit friedlicher und zivilisierter miteinander leben kann?

Welche Rolle können und sollen Kreative als Portraitist:innen, Chronist:innen und Kritiker:innen unserer Zeit oder als Visionär:innen mit Blick in eine mögliche Zukunft innerhalb von Veränderungsprozessen spielen? Welche Gesellschaftsform wäre für sie und in ihren Augen die richtige? Diese Fragen diskutieren Expert:innen, Denker:innen und Kreative live in einem Panel und mit dem Publikum.

Gäste der B3

Dr. Frauke Schmickl
Speaker Österreich
Christa Sommerer
Artist Österreich
Ioulia Isserlis
Director Deutschland
Luc Dardenne
Filmmaker Belgien