B3 in depth

In the new online interview series "B3 in depth", the B3 Biennale of the Moving Image poses the essential questions of the industry together with creative professionals. What does the future hold?

The past year has shown that everything we have previously perceived as normality can quickly be turned upside down. In the new B3 podcast format, artists and makers of moving images talk specifically about what currently drives them and how they see their future and that of their guilds within our social fabric. The goal of the format is to get people in front of the webcams of their notebooks who have something to contribute to creativity, film, media use and thinking outside the box, or, as it was called in the 1990s: tactical media.

Johannes Grenzfurthner will lead the online series. He is an artist, filmmaker, performer, and founder of the art and theory group monochrom, and was involved as a moderator in various online formats of B3 in 2020.

B3 in depth 1 with Jello Biafra

The B3 podcast series starts with Jello Biafra. Jello is an American hardcore and punk rock musician and political activist who became known as the lead singer of the punk band Dead Kennedys. After the band broke up in 1986, he became a solo artist. Throughout his solo career, he released all of his albums through his own music label, Alternative Tentacles. But it is not only musically that Jello values his own initiative: Biafra became an active member of the Green Party and took part in political actions that correspond to his progressive political ideas. He sees himself as a democratic anarchist. Biafra became known for his controversial approach to the media, highlighting issues such as civil rights, social injustice and the increasing power of large corporations.

Go to B3 in depth on YouTube

B3 in depth

In der Online-Interviewreihe »B3 in depth« stellt sich die B3 Biennale des bewegten Bildes gemeinsam mit Kreativschaffenden die essentiellen Fragen der Branche. Was bringt die Zukunft?

Das letzte Jahr hat gezeigt, dass alles, was wir bisher als Normalität wahrgenommen haben, schnell auf den Kopf gestellt werden kann. Im neuen B3-Podcastformat sprechen Künstlerinnen und die Macherinnen von bewegten Bildern konkret darüber, was sie derzeit antreibt und wie sie ihre Zukunft sowie die ihrer Zünfte innerhalb unseres Gesellschaftsgefüges sehen. Ziel des Formats ist es, Menschen vor die Webcams ihrer Notebooks zu locken, die etwas zu Kreativität, Film, Mediengebrauch und Um-die-Ecke-Denken beitragen können, oder, wie es in den 1990ern so schön hieß: tactical media.

Johannes Grenzfurthner wird die Online-Reihe leiten. Er ist Künstler, Filmemacher, Performer und Gründer der Kunst- und Theorieneigungsgruppe monochrom und war 2020 als Moderator an verschiedenen Online-Formaten der B3 beteiligt.

B3 in depth 1 mit Jello Biafra

Die B3-Podcast-Reihe startet mit Jello Biafra. Jello ist ein US-amerikanischer Hardcore- und Punk-Rock-Musiker sowie politischer Aktivist, der als Leadsänger der Punk-Band Dead Kennedys bekannt wurde. Nach Auflösung der Band 1986 wurde er Solokünstler. Während seiner gesamten Solokarriere veröffentlichte er alle Alben über sein eigenes Musiklabel Alternative Tentacles. Doch nicht nur musikalisch legt Jello Wert auf Eigeninitiative: Biafra wurde aktives Mitglied der Green Party und nahm an politischen Aktionen teil, die seinen progressiven politischen Vorstellungen entsprechen. Er selbst sieht sich als demokratischer Anarchist. Biafra wurde durch seinen kontroversen Umgang mit den Medien bekannt, mit dem er Themen wie die Bürgerrechte, soziale Ungerechtigkeit und die zunehmende Macht der Großkonzerne beleuchtete.

Zu B3 in depth auf YouTube